The Dutch government has announced it will begin recognizing the Gaza Strip and the occupied West Bank, including East Jerusalem, as official birthplaces for Palestinians who were born in the country after the establishment of Israel.

While the Netherlands does not yet recognize the State of Palestine, it will recognize those Palestinian territories as the origin of birth for those born after May 15, 1948, when the British Mandate officially ended.

According to an Interior Ministry release published on Saturday, Raymond Knops said the Gaza Strip and occupied West Bank would be added to the list of territories that the Dutch civil registry accepts.

According to the statement, Knops noted the new category is in accordance with “the Dutch viewpoint that Israel has no sovereignty over these areas”, as well as the Netherlands’ refusal to recognize Palestine as a state.

He said the new category reflects the terms agreed upon in the Oslo Peace Accords signed between Israel and the Palestine Liberation Organization in the 1990’s and in subsequent United Nations Security Council resolutions.

At least 136 countries and the UN General Assembly have recognized Palestine as a sovereign state, but most of the European Union has refrained from doing so until one is declared within the framework of a peace agreement with Israel.

Al Jazeera / ABC Flash Point News 2019.

4.5 2 votes
Article Rating
Previous articleThe Vatican Paid $4 Billion to Victims of Child Sex Abuse
Next articleMajority of the World Supports Venezuela’s President Maduro
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Bolshevik Jew
Bolshevik Jew
03-07-20 01:17

And what does this change by the way?

Petit Pois
Petit Pois
28-03-22 11:30

Very good, finally one step closer to justice?