Seventeen US states have swung behind a Supreme Court case launched by Texas to have Democratic presidential candidate Joe Biden’s declared election victory overturned.

The states are Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Utah, and West Virginia, all of which voted for President Donald Trump in the 3 November presidential election.

Texas Attorney General Ken Paxton filed the suit with the Supreme Court late on Monday night, petitioning justices to force the states of Georgia, Michigan, Pennsylvania, and Wisconsin to allow their state legislatures to disregard the contested results in those states and appoint electors of their own choosing to the Electoral College that decides the next president.

Paxton argues that the decisions of those states’ executive governments to change election rules to allow mass mail-in balloting violated the constitution and should not have been allowed without the approval of state legislators.

Trump would win with the votes of any three of those states. If three of them refuse to appoint electors for either Trump or Biden, Congress will vote by state delegations, with one vote per state, in a contingent election where Republicans would have the majority.

The Supreme Court has given the four target states until Thursday to respond to the suit. State legislatures have until 14 December to appoint electors from states nominated by the contesting parties.

The state legislatures of Georgia, Michigan, Pennsylvania, and Wisconsin are controlled by Republican majorities in both houses.

The only reason for Electoral Vote is because 243 years ago they had no fast communication (Internet, Satellite, Cars, Trains and Jets) so they had to Elect and vote for a candidate as he was going to be like a governor for that state.

Sputnik / ABC Flash Point Political News 2020.

4.7 6 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
10-12-20 10:34

Biden and the Deep State will never accept defeat?

Pan Cayente
Pan Cayente
11-12-20 13:55

Fraud automatically disqualifies Biden run for president?